This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Architects and acoustic considerations.

kashmir
edited May 2006 in architecture
I have always wondered how much thought do boutique/commercial architects put into the acoustics of the spaces they create? As a music producer, I am acutely aware of my acoustic surroundings as they play a very important role in my line of work.

In many circumstances I have noticed architectural designs seem to pay very little consideration (if any) to the influence of acoustics on a person’s experience of an interior. Interiors are often barren of absorbent materials and contain vast areas of acoustically reflective surfaces.

We are a lot more like bats than you would think. Ever noticed when sitting in a modern movie theatre or a library how the walls seem to be closing in and you feel somewhat constricted? This is because practically all the HF reflections are being attenuated and your ear is unable to “translate” the dimensions of the room correctly. If you haven’t noticed this phenomenon I suggest next time you are in a cinema before the movie starts, close your eyes and let your ears feel the space.

Humans unconsciously use HF (high frequency) reflections to judge and orientate themselves within a space. The consequence of uncontrolled HF refection is an aural overload which can manifest in restlessness, irritability and being hyper sensitive to any sound. Tuning an environment to attenuate the just right about HF would arguably have a more profound influence on a person’s long term subconscious relationship with a room/volume than any aesthetic treatment. Please discuss.

Comments

• kashmir
    edited January 1970
    anyone? or is it all about aesthetic... :roll:
  • peter_j
    edited January 1970