This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Starting Something...just how crazy am i?

dav_
edited June 2006 in Q and A
Hi, i'm a graduate in Perth with 18months experience in a tiny firm where i do a huge amount of the work, prob about 50-60% of the work, if not more. We mainly do small residential work, single houses, renovations. I'm now also starting to get a lot of on the side, from drafting to design to consultation-kinda stuff.

I have a bit of a vision for what i want to do with my work and it's a bit outside what i can get from my firm. I'm well aware of a lot of the issues, but I'm seriously looking to branch out and do my own thing, maybe hook up with peers from uni and work on some of the projects i've been offered. I wouldn't consider it for another 9months or so, and i'd like to register first, but i'm wondering if anyone can tell me if i'm completely nuts to even consider this. I just don't want to work for someone else's vision or wait til i'm 35 to start my dream up, or get trapped in some soul-sucking corporate career in the meantime.

Any advice, any support? anything?

Thanks,
dav_

Comments

• franklyarchitectural
    edited January 1970
    Dav,
    your desire to get out of that office is a natural and correct ambition. Think yourself lucky to have the opportunity: you're young, you're not far off being registered. The other way to advance your career is to change jobs, somewhere you can rise up ranks, but do you want that? It's natural for creative professionals to want independence, I think. I have less experience than you, and in a way I envy your experience - it sounds well-rounded at least! Good luck.
  • dav_
    edited January 1970
    (thanks frankly) Um...hello? is there anyone out there? i was hoping that this would be a reasonably good space for open and interesting discussion, but apparently not. 105 views and 1 reply. hooray for dialogue!