This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Interesting Graduate Jobs

dav_
edited March 2007 in architecture
Do interesting graduate jobs exist?

i have been working for the last 3 years in a tiny practice that is very hands-on and experience-heavy. I have been very lucky with the range of tasks i have been involved with. However, the time has come for me to expand and grow and so I'm on the look-out for a new job, one that will allow me to make use of my experience and talents.

The thing is, I have just come back from an interview with quite a large, progressive firm and have been told that 1) my experience is worth nothing and would be disregarded and 2) i can expect to be drawings toilets for the next 2 years. I see this as a pointless exercise as it will mean i can't utilise any of the skills i have picked up working for a decent little firm. Has anyone had any luck getting a good graduate job, know of any firms that do have good graduate jobs, or are looking to give a good 3rd year graduate a good job?

Comments

• peter_j
    edited March 2007
    Whoever interviewed you needs their head read. Perhaps this middle manager can't fathom what it is like to work in a small office where you do everything. I think it is good to spend time in offices of all sizes during your 20s, so keep looking at the large practices too. It can be the biggest thrill working on a monster project as part of a dedicated team.

Drawing toilets for two years? Only if you're really unlucky. There was a guy drawing toilets full time at a large office I worked in, but he seemed quite happy about it. You do have to watch being pigeon-holed in a big place - if you are then you can always request a transfer to another project or you can leave.

Maybe let people know which town you're from and you might get an offer or two.
  • dav_
    edited January 1970
    Thanks Peter.