This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Private Work

Anonymous
edited September 2006 in architecture
This topic has probably been discussed before.

I am a graduate architect (not registered) and have been working in the industry for 2 years. I work for building designers but I have recently taken up a private job for a friend to produce drawings at concept, planning and working drawing stage for an extension to an existing residence. Currently the project is in council getting looked at for planning approval.

My question is what are the legal ramification of me producing working drawings privately? I am interested in knowing whether i can produce working drawings as i have no indemnity insurance? Should i be producing working drawings? Can i get the client to sign an agreement saying that any problems down the track with the extension that i can't be held responsible making it safe for me to produce the working drawings and what proccess i should go through to make this safe in a legal sense for me.

Any other issues to be highlighted will be appreciated.

If any one could help, it would be much appreciated.

gs.

Comments

• dav_
    edited January 1970
    Hey GS.

I'm in the same situation, but i've now gone a bit further and registered a business and all that hoo-ha. Do you ever get the feeling that the older architects have no interest in helping young guys get started? very uncool.

The tack we are taking with PI is we make it very clear, in letters, contracts, verbals, that we have no PI, make it clear that you're a graduate and not an architect, and don't offer any kind of advice that you're not capable of. On top of that, if you don't have any assets, no-ones going to try to sue you ;).