This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

How to design...or not?

Frostbland
edited April 2008 in Q and A
Howdy Funsters,

I'm a 2nd year student and I have some questions about how design is taught. I'm at the University of Newcastle where there is a 'problem-based learning' philosophy. Whilst we have design studies courses, there isn't really any actual 'how to design' component. We are guided in tutorials and can also go by our marks & (subjective) presentation feedback, but I feel that this is often unsatisfactory, especially for people who are very inexperienced. Whilst I *love* art & architecture and can just eat up all the theory, I hate to admit that when it comes to putting pencil to paper I am constantly underwhelmed by the frequently er prosaic results.

How do other universities teach these kind of skills? Some people seem to think that experience is the only way to learn. I have looked for some books but it seems that most architectural design texts are about 'how to design in one particular style' - not really what I'm after.

Anyhoo I will be most innerested to hear what others think & all ideas & info will be much appreciated. Thanks a bunch!

Frosty

Comments

• simon seasons
    edited April 2008
    Dear Frosty,
    That used to be my nickname once because I couldn't be seperated from a 'frosty boy' icecream servers baseball cap, but you're not interested in that and I don't wear that hat anymore.
    I do wear this hat though. Art, design, architecture and falling over in the street, all have a common denominator. They have a reason for happening the way they do that has nothing to do with your imagination. You have to look for what is needed, for what is asked for, and for what limitations exist on achieving those first two. That is design.