This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

architecture books- recommendations?

trans-europe-express
edited March 2008 in Q and A
hi, i'm a first year architecture student (UTS) looking to educate myself. any suggestions for good books (or even films)? i don't really want to buy something that will help me get marks, i just want stuff to inspire me.
so far i have this INSANE design p0rn at home http://www.amazon.com/Domus-1928-1999-Vols-Charlotte-Fiell/dp/3822830275 (!!!!!!)
thanks in advance

Comments

• john latham
    edited November -1
    this one's all words but rips along creating good mindscenes.
    a most unusual casuo-formal book
    .... 'Wow Hows the House Now' by Monte Latham
    ... try looking on www.bookpod.com.au 9dont forget the au)
    j
  • simon seasons
    edited May 2008
    Construction Into Design
    By James Strike

This one's a bit light on but not too bad as that makes it a quick easy read while still being thourough enough for a student who can then delve deeper elsewhere.
    It is about how manufacturing and technological changes have affected the way buildings are designed, from 1790's to 1990's.
    It was originally written as lecture notes which were roughly cobbled together but that only affects the chapter introductions and the flow, not the content. For a more thourough examination it contains a fabulous bibliography and a list of sources that a search in the era of the internet should well reward.
    If you believe like I do, that designing a structure should take into account the enviroment into which it is placed AND the materials from which it is built, then this text should give you a really good introduction to the materials aspect of the design equation.
  • mark_melb
    edited November -1
    Try "From Bauhaus to Our House" by Tom Woolfe
  • john latham
    edited November -1
    WOW HOWS THE HOUSE NOW

www.bookpod.com.au