This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

What the Heck are Universities teaching?

philip
edited August 2008 in architecture
<p>This is a precursor to a letter I am going to write as am open lettr to the Univerities in Australia</p>
<p>My background is that after thirty years in practice I along with my pertners have a practice of some 24 staff.</p>
<p>In recent times I have become astounded at the lack of knowledge of recent graduates and as a filter I have started asking job apalicants to sketch (yes on a piece of paper) a section through a colume built house or the house they live in and I describe below the outcomes from several interviews on this and other matters</p>
<p><b>Applicant One (One year Out)</b></p>
<p>A basic brick veneer wall, no wall ties, no damp proof course, sitting in a concrete footing which in section was shaped like a concrete drainage channel</p>
<p><b>Applicant Two (Three and half years out)</b></p>
<p>After we explained what a section was ( No I am not kidding and the applicant had been working three years!!!!!) they then sketched a section that consisted of</p>
<ul>
<li>a layer of brickwork</li>
<li>10 mm air gap</li>
<li>layer of plasterboard</li>
<li>timber frame</li>
<li>further airgap</li>
<li>Another layer of brickwork</li>
</ul>
<p>Feedback on this interview from a staff member was that we didn't need an architect rather we were looking for a Project Manager</p>
<p><b>Applicant Three ( One year Out)</b></p>
<p>Quizzed about what consultants they would appoint on a jon that was a simnple brick veneer classrom struugled for sometime before proudly announcing that the consultant we needed was a builder</p>
<p>I am really looking forward to retirement  - I think there is going to be so much expert witness work around against Architects that it may be more profitable than thirty years of practice</p>