This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Tertiary Education

Anonymous
edited October 2005 in architecture
I am a current architectural student. I cant even put my frustrations with the tertiary education system into few words.

To begin with, I have never seen such dis-organisation, misguided instruction and teaching as I have at my current place of study. We have a year of 100% willing and eager students looking to get the skill and knowledge they need to get out there and be sucessful. We however are not provided with this. We are given next to no architectural design education, and a mixed bag of irrelevant subjects in addition each semester. I entered the course with the intention of gaining practical skill, but this is not the case. Anything i have learnt, i have done so on my own, in my own time. Some of the staff are very good, and give thier all in helping students. Most, with reference to design education, push thier own perogatives and ideas onto students, of which, are highly unrealistic and unconventional solutions to problems. In the end of each semester, you end up with a bunch of schemes which are utter unrealistic garbage that a preschool child could produce. But the idea is, as long as thier is a strong concept, and is show in the design, that makes a successfull project.
Im at a total loss with the system.
I am in a difficult position, as i am coming from a different background of study,and can make decent earnings with my current work. But i am looking to make the shift into architectural work, and would have to virtually give up these earnings which i need, and take a reduced amount as an architectural student employee. In addition, i do not feel confident in participating in architectural work, as i dont believe i have the technical knowledge and skills to be involved.