greaseproof architecture since 2000

2011 Australian House of the Year

This is a past event.


The 2011 inaugural Houses Awards program presented by Houses magazine is now calling for entries from Australian and international design professionals working on an Australian project.

One of the country’s most sought-after architectural accolades, the awards celebrate Australia’s best residential projects in seven categories, with the best house receiving the premier award of Australian House of the Year. 

“The inaugural Houses Awards program is a unique opportunity to celebrate Australian residential architecture,” says Cameron Bruhn, Houses magazine Editorial Director. “The peer-judged awards will recognize achievement through categories that reflect the way architects and designers are shaping Australian homes.”

Each year the Houses Awards provides a unique insight into contemporary residential design and the contribution Australia’s architects and designers make to enhancing the way we live today. This year the judging panel includes eminent architects and designers recognised for creating inspirational Australian homes:

  • Camilla Block, Director, Durbach Block Jaggers (NSW)
  • Paul Owen, Director, Owen and Vokes (Qld)
  • Kerry Phelan, Director, Kerry Phelan Design Office (Vic)
  • Brian Zulaikha, Director, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer (NSW)
  • Cameron Bruhn, Editorial Director, Architecture Media (Vic), and
  • Sustainability Category Advisor, Scott Drake, The University of Melbourne.

The categories include:

  • New House under 200 sqm
  • New House over 200 sqm
  • House Alteration and Addition under 200 sqm
  • Apartment, Unit, or Townhouse
  • Outdoor
  • Sustainability
  • Australian House of the Year

The Australian House of the Year Award winner will receive a $5,000 cash prize, while winners of individual categories will each win $1,000. All Awarded and Commended projects will be presented with a certificate and use of the Houses Awards logo for printed and promotional materials.

Entrants and their projects will also receive recognition through a range of Architecture Media titles including Houses, Houses: Kitchens+Bathrooms, Architecture Australia, Landscape Architecture Australia, Artichoke, Architectural Product News and Selector, as well as other media.

Entries close on Thursday 31 March 2011 and full details can be found at the awards website –

Winners will be announced on July 15, 2011.

For further information, please contact Trish Nicol at The Trish Nicol Agency on + 61 2 9356 2711 or trish – AT –

See some more
See all  in Australia
Contact  Cookie Preferences All rights reserved and all that. 2024.