This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

Career change - lawyer to architect

edited June 2006 in Q and A
I'm a corporate lawyer (in his mid/late-20s) considering a career change and returning to university to study architecture. My current profession provides me financial security but it's completely soul-destroying. I understand there will be huge financial sacrifices in doing this but it's the price to pay for pursuing something I've had a strong interest in since childhood. Are there others who have made this sort of career change or have studied architecture as a mature age student? Advice from others would be greatly appreciated! Am I completely mad (considering I'll be well into my 30s by the time I get qualified)?!

Comments

• MB
    MB
    edited January 1970
    Have you consdered combining your current profession with Architecture? I know an environmental lawyer who is particularly ineterested in Architecture, does a lot of work with developers and, in the end, has quite a bit to to with Architects and Architecture.

There's no reason why you cant educate yourself about Architecture and use that to direct your own legal practice into an area you are interested in.
  • mark_melb
    edited January 1970
    I do know of somebody that did this. Some years ago an Architect in my previous office studied Law part time and then went to do his articles (whatever they are. Photocopying?) Now he is doing Building Law.
  • chunk
    edited January 1970
    I studied with a lawyer who did a Grad Dip and then the B Arch with us. She was excellent at what she did and had no issues with gaining employment - in fact many employers seemed to give her credit for the experience she brought from her law background and she currently has more responsibility than most graduates of our level (3 yrs out)