This is an archive. The forum is not taking new registrations or allowing new discussion, despite what the buttons might suggest.

What are current student Wages- Please Help!

lulu
edited October 2006 in architecture
Student Architect Wages for Part Time Work

Hello
I am a Fifth Yr Archi student and recently got a job part time for an established archi firm.
I have no idea how much they should be paying me.
Grad award wages are around $37,000, but i'm sixth months off graduating and i'm only working part time. I have lots of interior experience but no professional archi experience so far.

Can someone please tell me what i should roughly be getting so i don't get riped off or taken advantage of!

Thanks So much. :roll:

Comments

• peter_j
    edited January 2007
    Have a look at these:

WAGENET (link updated Jan 07)

WAGES + CONDITIONS THREAD

and here is a post I've dredged up from last year:

10.06.05 Salary survey - Here's a link to a PDF file of the Hays 2005 salary survey of the construction sector. Graduate architects are doing best in Brisbane ($40K - $45K) and worst in NZ ($26K - $33K). More experienced architects are earning $60K to $100K in Brisbane but only $45K to $60K in New Zealand, no higher than a 'drafter' there. Interesting that drafters in NZ get paid more than those in Brisbane. If you want big dollars then become a construction manager in Sydney, where your salary range will be $150K to $220K, or get into facilities management anywhere for up to $250K.
    HAYS SALARY PDF:
    http://www.hays-hps.co.nz/salary/pdfs05/ConstructionProperty.pdf

I've just noticed that this has been updated for 2006:
    http://www.hays-hps.co.nz/salary/pdfs06/ConstructionProperty.pdf
  • lulu
    edited January 1970
    Thanks Peter!
    That was really helpful and optimistic.

It gets a little depressing when everyone tells you how little you will earn as a graduate after a 5 yr degree.